The diary of a sales woman: Part 1

I did a thing the other day. A thing that seemed out of the ordinary for me.

It wasn’t impulsive, really. I had been thinking about it for a while. But I didn’t actually expect myself to go through with it.

I signed up to be a multi-level marketing makeup sales rep. Specifically, a sales rep for Younique.

Maybe that doesn’t sound that weird to you.

But, on the other hand, maybe some of you are like me. I’m used to cringing when I hear the words “multi-level marketing.” It’s easy to hear that phrase and instantly think “pyramid scheme.” And as a graduate from Georgia Tech with a BSBA in marketing, I’ve seen several examples of these alleged pyramid schemes and the the “get-rich-quick” model they promote.

When a friend of mine started selling Younique, I wasn’t sure what to think. I watched her videos, saw how good her makeup looked, but didn’t really think it was something for me.

As time went on,  I got more interested — I am a makeup junkie after all — so I started looking into the company.

Younique was founded by a brother and sister duo in Salt Lake City, Utah. The company was originally known for their Moodstruck 3D Fiber Lashes — something they’re still known for today. However, the makeup line expanded as the company grew. And in January 2017, Coty (known for brands such as COVERGIRL, Max Factor, Rimmel, and skincare lines through Calvin Klein, Marc Jacobs, Hugo Boss, and Gucci) bought 60% of the company.

What caught my eye about Younique was that their products were actually legit. I have very sensitive skin and easily breakout (and um, while we’re on it, how come no one ever explicitly told me adult acne was a thing? Thirteen-year-old me was so naive to think my face was going to clear up eventually *sigh* *end rant*). I’ve tried several brands of makeup, all of which caused some unsightly blemishes. But Younique is the good stuff – solid coverage, silky-smooth finish, and zit-free skin.

eb135e940652af27e71b3ca47082db61

Their website also has great stuff about uplifting, empowering, and validating other women. And that’s something I can get behind. Can I get an amen, sistas? 

And lastly, timg_0263he company is built around actually selling a product. So unlike a pyramid scheme, you don’t have to have a billion recruits under you to make money. You can simply be a single sales person, sell a product you love, and if you’re any good at it, make a few bucks (or at least break even) in the process. Unless you go crazy and devote your life to it, it’s probably not something I’d recommend as a full-time career, but it looks to be a steady gig for someone interested in a little side hustle.

So I did it. I took the plunge, bought a kit, and have my own site. My kit should arrive tomorrow, and I’m excited to get more of the products in my hands and on my face.

But what’s more exciting is the chance to combine two of my favorite things – makeup and marketing (well, and sales, but that doesn’t start with an “m” so it doesn’t sound as good).

So what’s in it for you? Well for starters, I’m always going to be honest about the ins-and-outs of working for a multi-level marketing company. If this is something that’s piqued your interest in the past, keep reading because I will update you on my journey.

I’m also going to be candid about the products, about the company, and about myself (aka some non-makeup selfies, truthful before-and-afters, and more). And honesty, especially on social media, is something that is generally lacking on my newsfeed. Hopefully I can offer an alternative.

Nothing made up except the make up.

I’m also going to be doing some cool makeup tutorials, posting some skin care tips and tricks, and also occasionally adding in some random thoughts about life (for example — did you know loofah sponges come from GORDS AND NOT ACTUAL SEA SPONGES? I know, mind blown).

All I ask of you is that you embrace my honesty, give me some feedback, and enjoy the ride.

Oh and I didn’t even mention the best part —

Younique has a non-profit foundation committed to supporting adult women who were victims of sexual abuse. As a Younique presenter, I have the option of giving a portion of my commission to this foundation, although it is not required. I have personally decided to give 10% of my commission to the Younique Foundation so anything you buy through my store is going directly to a great cause: uplifting, empowering, and validating other women who need it most.

And because I wouldn’t be a good salesperson if I didn’t mention this, here’s a link to my Younique store: https://www.youniqueproducts.com/emilyfultz

Feel free to check it out and maybe purchase an item or two if you’re interested.  I can also send you some samples so just let me know.

giphy-6

Alright, that’s it. More honesty to come. Stay tuned.

Love you, sisters.

XOXO Emily

4 thoughts on “The diary of a sales woman: Part 1

  1. You are amazing!! I can’t wait to read about your journey. I’ve always been curious about the multi-level marketing so that is one thing I’m interested to read about (along with everything else you are doing!) Will definitely be hitting you up to see about taking care of these post baby skin issues over here! Love you mrs marketing queen 👑

    Like

  2. OK. I hate to sound predictable, but you’re awesome! And I’m glad you’re out there taking a chance, having fun and making a difference. Can’t ask more than that. Very proud of you. And, by the way, you’re a very good writer. Love ya! 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The diary of a sales woman: Part 2 | MAKING ME BLUSH

Leave a Reply

